Public Health

Working together to keep communities safe

Public health departments keep our communities safe by working to prevent communicable diseases and providing wellness services to children and adults.  

There are 11 public health departments in the Kansas City region with a long history of working together to coordinate, cooperate and strengthen their impact. In a metro area like Kansas City, many people may live in Missouri and see a doctor in Kansas, or vice versa, making regional cooperation a necessity to protect public health.

Public Health Departments

  • Cass County Health Department
  • Clay County Health Department
  • Jackson County Health Department
  • Johnson County Department of Health & Environment
  • Leavenworth County Health Department
  • Miami County Health Department
  • Platte County Health Department
  • Ray County Health Department
  • Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas, Public Health Department
  • City of Kansas City, Missouri, Health Department
  • City of Independence, Missouri, Health Department

Regional public health news releases

The Mid-America Regional Council issues regional public health news releases on behalf of MOHAKCA members on topics of importance to public health.