Meet the 2024 Regional Leadership Award honorees

May 06, 2024
| Posted in
Carson Ross welcoming the crowd to the 2023 Regional Assembly

These awards honor people, organizations and initiatives that advocate regional concepts, approaches and programs; address regional challenges; apply innovative solutions to regional problems; and advance a regional vision of excellence and opportunity.

Join us in celebrating this years' honorees! Here are the details:

MARC Regional Assembly and Leadership Awards
Friday, June 14
11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Program begins at 11:30 a.m.
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center


Logo for the Kansas City, Mo. Aviation Department

Kansas City, Missouri, Aviation Department

 For their vision and professional delivery of the new terminal at the Kansas City International Airport, a critical regional asset that is transforming the metropolitan area.

Gloria Ortiz Fisher

Gloria Ortiz-Fisher

Executive director, Westside Housing Organization

For significant leadership on affordable and fair housing and sustainability in the Kansas City metropolitan area, and for bringing a commitment to equity and deep understanding of community development to the regional agenda, ensuring we create communities that work for everyone.

Julie Lorenz

Julie Lorenz

Former secretary of transportation, State of Kansas 

For exemplary leadership at the Kansas Department of Transportation, advancement of regional transportation goals and commitment to engaging local governments in positively transforming the systems that form the backbone of our economies and communities.

Carolyn Wells

Carolyn Wells

Trauma and emergency preparedness manager, Liberty Hospital

For enduring leadership and service to the region through advancing health care coordination and emergency response essential to regional homeland security, and tireless efforts to strengthen the systems, relationships and protocols that help keep our communities safe.