Skycast X

Sustainable Places Policy Committee

Meeting information:

The Sustainable Places Policy Committee generally meets on the second Friday of every other month, at 9 a.m. in the MARC Board Room.

Next meeting:
Friday, May 12, 2017 — agenda

600 Broadway, Suite 200
Kansas City, MO 64105

Meeting summary archive:

The Sustainable Places Policy Committee (SPPC) was formed in Spring 2015 to follow up on the Creating Sustainable Places initiative which ran from 2011–2013. The SPPC provides leadership and policy advice to MARC’s Board of Directors in regional sustainable development. Under the guidance of the SPPC, MARC works with local communities to update and implement land-use strategies that support transportation, equity, environment and conservation principles.  

Additional committee background

2015–2016 SPPC priorities

Kansas Co-chair — Commissioner James F. (Jim) Walters, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City

Missouri Co-chair — Councilmember Marcie Gragg, Independence

Staff contacts:
Marlene Nagel, 816/474-4240
Martin Rivarola, 816/474-4240

The SPPC strives to integrate transportation, environment, housing, public health, economic development and other plans and policies in support of regional and local land use plans and objectives. Specific roles and responsibilities of the SPPC include:
  • Advance integrated regional policy initiatives related to infrastructure and land use development to implement the region’s adopted vision.
  • Build consensus among local government and community leaders on effective approaches to achieve the vision, in part through multifaceted public outreach and education, and engagement with the development community.
  • Facilitate the use of scenario, visualization, natural resource and economic pro forma tools to catalyze sustainable development decisions, and monitor key indicators to measure progress.
  • Oversee the Planning Sustainable Places grant program and make funding recommendations to support planning and implementation projects across the region. 
The committee is composed of local elected officials, economic and community development interests, equity organizations, environmental and transportation experts, and persons experienced in private development.  

Committee members listing