Regional Leadership Awards

Since 1992, the Mid-America Regional Council has annually recognized individuals and institutions that have made outstanding contributions to the region. The recipients of MARC's Regional Leadership awards have advanced a vision of a strong, healthy region, demonstrated commitment to its growth, and encouraged others to support and work towards that vision. Each spring, MARC calls for nominations for the annual leadership awards.

MARC's Regional Leadership Awards recognize leadership and excellence in:

  • Advocating regional concepts, approaches and programs
  • Advancing the vision of the region as a community of excellence
  • Addressing regional challenges
  • Applying innovative solutions to regional problems
  • Achieving improved quality of life and equitable opportunity for the region's citizens.

Recipients of MARC's Annual Regional Leadership Awards

2013: Todd Ackerson; Mike Burke; Dr. Ray Daniels; CASA of Jackson County and CASA of Johnson and Wyandotte Counties; Eric Rogers

2012: Karen Haren; Mike Henderson; Kitty McCoy; Ripple Glass; YMCA of Greater Kansas City

2011: Francis Family Foundation; Tim Lynch; Betty Knight*; Gary Mallory*; Annabeth Surbaugh*

2010: Chief Kent Cantrell, U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II, Steven C. Klika, Mid America Assistance Coalition

2009: Kenneth and Ann Baum; Kansas City Public Television; Cindy Kemper; Dennis Murphey, Barbara Vernon

2008: Bob Berkebile, Chris Koster, Sen. Pat Roberts, Kansas City Scout traffic management system

2007: Hannes Zacharias and Rich Noll, Kansas City Power & Light, U.S. Rep. Sam Graves, United Way 2-1-1, Dr. Charles A. Eddy*

2006: Jan Kreamer, Ron Norris, Ted Stolfus, Kansas City Area Life Sciences Institute

2005: Carol Marinovich; Ken Plante; Greater Kansas City Home Builders Association; Heart of America — A Journey Fourth

2004: Larry Blick; Brad Mason; Councilman Alvin Brooks; Rev. Edward Eugene Fields; Price Chopper Groceries

2003: Joan Bowman; Domenic Serrone; Heart of America Family Services; Jonathan Kemper

2002: Kansas Lt. Governor Gary Sherrer; David Watkins; Anita Gorman; the Kansas City Metro Chapter of the American Public Works Association; Bill McDonald*

2001: U. S. Representative Dennis Moore; George E. "Ed" Wolf Jr.; The Hall Family Foundation; William C. Nelson

2000: U. S. Representative Karen McCarthy; Major Walt Way; E. Wynn Presson; KC 150 Steering Committee

1999: Audrey Langworthy; Lisa Ashner Adkins; Frederick R. Siems; Bridging the Gap; Georgia Erickson*

1998: Sen. Christopher “Kit” Bond; E.H. “Gene” Denton; Drue Jennings; Kansas City Area Development Council

1997: Sen. Harry Wiggins; Shughart, Thomson & Kilroy; Jack Craft; Steve Rose; Edward M. “Mick” Halter; Joseph A. Mickes

1995-96: Kansas City Power & Light; Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation; Johnson County Parks and Recreation; Kansas City, Mo. Parks & Recreation

1994: Murray Nolte; Irene Fletcher; J.P. Garrett; Ramon Murguia

1993: Partnership for Children; Kansas City Consensus; Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce

1992: U.S. Representative Jan Meyers; Stacie G. Goffin, Ed. D; Joanne M. Collins; Richard “Smokey” Dyer; Neale Peterson*; Frank Corbett*

*Recognition for Past MARC Board Service