816-474-4240 816-421-7758 FAX marcinfo@marc.org www.marc.org





Solid Waste March 5, 2025

OPEN MEETING NOTICE

To: MARC Solid Waste Management District Executive Board & Alternates

From: Dianna Bryant, District Planner

Re: MARC SWMD Executive Board Meeting, Wednesday, 3/19/25,

11am-1pm. Please RSVP

This meeting will be held in a hybrid format. You may email Nadja (karpilow@marc.org) to be forwarded the information to access the ZOOM meeting room.

AGENDA

I. Introductions / Member Sharing

II. Approval of Meeting Summaries

- Approval of January 15, 2025, Meeting Summary (EB)
- . Approval of February 20, 2025, Meeting Summary (MC)

III. Administrative Matters

- Approve Mike Mallon to EB to fill position vacated by Cara Elbert
- Policy and Procedures Revision
- 2026 Grant
 - o Priorities
 - o 2026 Application Revision and Fact Sheets
 - o Grant Scoring Criteria Revision
- Increase Security Interest Agreement threshold from \$5,000 to \$10,000
- Outstanding Security Interest Agreements: Urban Lumber and Crush Glass
- Disposition of Equipment for four grants with security interest agreements.
- Grant Close Out –approval to close out eight grants and deobligate remaining grant funds.
- Small Project Assistance Funds Requests
- Approval of new Grant Review Committee members and Chair

IV. Informational Items

- . 2026 HHW Program Update
- . Paint Stewardship Update SB239
- . MORA Conference Update May 20-22
- . Treasurers Report

V. Board Discussion

• SW Plan Update – Dianna will provide a progress report on the Materials Recovery Plan

VI. Old Business / New Business

VII. Closing – The next Management Council meeting will be a planning retreat and is scheduled for April 16, 2025, from 9:00 to 1:00 pm. The May board meeting is cancelled due to the MORA conference. The next Executive Board meeting is scheduled for July 16, 2025, from 11 am to 1:00 pm. Meetings may be held via teleconference rather than at a physical location.

<u>Enclosures</u>: Meeting summaries, agenda report, deogbligation chart, grant scoring criteria, 2026 grant priorities, Fact Sheets

MARC Solid Waste Management District

Serving local governments in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray Counties and working cooperatively with Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte Counties

Executive Board

Appointed:

Louis Cummings

City of Kansas City

Vacant

Cass County

Donna Koontz

Clay County

Kouri Hunter (interim)

Jackson County

Daniel Erickson

Platte County

Vacant

Ray County

Elected:

Doug Wylie, Chair

City of Parkville

Mike Mallon

City of Blue Springs

Mike Jackson, Vice Chair

City of Independence

Lauran Kurtz

City of Lake Lotawana

Chris Bussen

City of Lee's Summit

Trent Salsbury

City of Raymore

Mike Larson

City of Sugar Creek

David Pavlich

City of Kearney

Ex Officio:

Dianna Bryant

Secretary/Treasurer