600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64105-1659

816-474-4240 816-421-7758 FAX marcinfo@marc.org www.marc.org



Transportation Emissions Committee

Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: Monday, October 14, 2024 (special meeting)

Time: 9:00 to 11:00 AM

Location: MARC Board Room and Online via Zoom

Attendees:

Sherri McIntyre, Liberty, MO Athena Huynh, Grandview, MO Melissa Schmitz, MoDOT Karie Kneller, Mission KS Alex Lopez, Independence, MO Susan Barry, Lee's Summit, MO Maddie Bouton, Basehor, KS Dean Katerndahl, Parkville, MO Kelly Gilbert, Kansas City, MO Noel Bennion, Riverside, MO Eric Rogers, BikeWalkKC/BPAC Steve Schooley, Lenexa, KS Wes Minder, Platte County, MO Rob Swafford, Richmond, MO Andy Savastino, Kansas City, MO Allison Smith, KDOT Adi Smadi, Independence, MO Erika Brant, Liberty, MO Garrett Kauss, Garver Kyle Dieckmann, Overland Park, KS John Findlay, Liberty, MO Leslee Rivarola, Basehor, KS Ryan Dickey, Independence, MO Xue Wood, North Kansas City, MO

MARC Staff:

Cy Smith Martin Rivarola Megan Broll Ryan Umberger Patrick Trouba Tom Jacobs

Agenda:

1. Welcome and Introductions

- 2. Vote: Approve the September 9, 2024, meeting summary Mayor Dean Katerndahl made a motion to approve the September 9, 2024, meeting summary; Susan Barry seconded.
- 3. Discussion of application submittals

Ryan Umberger summarized CMAQ and CPR applications received in 2023 and compared requests by total number of applications, number of sponsors, and funding request amounts.

4. Project presentations

Sponsors introduced and summarized each of their respective projects. Committee members requested to receive scoring criteria for each program, identification of projects requesting funding from more than one source, and evaluation resources to be provided prior to the first programming meeting. Sponsors fielded questions about complete streets, KCATA's new services and how that program will be managed, and an EV project that was not included in the CMAQ and CRP submittals.

5. Committee Co-Chair Nominations

Wes Minder moved to elect Mayor Dean Katerndahl as the Missouri Co-Chair. Noel Bennion Seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. Mayor Dean Katerndahl motioned to elect Maddie Bouton as Kansas Co-Chair. Susan Barry seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

6. Special Meeting Schedule Update Ryan Umberger described the Transportation Emissions Committee programming special meeting schedule.

7. Adjournment

The committee adjourned at 10:17 AM.