Missouri STP Priorities Committee July 9, 2024 Meeting Summary

Voting Members Present:		Voting Members (continued)		
Belton	Greg Rokos	Parkville		
Blue Springs (1 of 2)	Tom Degenhardt	Peculiar		
Blue Springs (2 of 2)	Adam Hilgedick	Platte City	Kenny Kellison (alt.)	
Excelsior Springs		Pleasant Hill		
Gladstone		Raymore		
Grain Valley	Mark Trosen	Raytown		
Grandview	Athena Huynh (alt.)	Richmond		
Greenwood		Smithville	Chuck Soules	
Harrisonville	Patty Hilderbrand, Chair	Cass County		
Independence (1 of 2)	Adi Smadi	Clay County		
Independence (2 of 2)	Alex Lopez	Jackson County		
Kansas City (1 of 4)	Nicolás Bosonetto	Platte County	Bob Heim	
Kansas City (2 of 4)	Chad Thompson (alt.)	Ray County	Matt Nolker	
Kansas City (3 of 4)		FHWA (Ex Officio)	Dan Weitkamp	
Kansas City (4 of 4)		KCATA	Dick Jarrold (alt.)	
Kearney	Shelie Daniel	MoDOT	Melissa Schmitz	
Lee's Summit (1 of 2)	Michael Park	Bike/Ped Com Rep.	Noel Bennion	
Lee's Summit (2 of 2)		Goods Movement Rep.	Mike Duffy	
Liberty	Sherri McIntyre, Vice Chair	Highway Com Rep.		
North Kansas City	Xue Wood (alt.)	RTCC Rep.		
Oak Grove	Corey Alford			
MARC Staff:	Other Attendees:	Other Attendees (continued):		
Ron Achelpohl	Belton: Ryan Haupt (alt.)	Art Gough		
Megan Broll	Grain Valley: Dick Tuttle (alt.)	MoDOT: Zeke Hall; Katie Jardieu; Krystal Jolly; Don Schoenborn		
Beth Dawson	Harrisonville: Carl Brooks (alt.)	Clay County: Dianna Wright; Terri Griffen		
Bobby Evans	Independence: Rodney Honeycutt (alt.)	Glenaire: Dale Marcell		
Darryl Fields	Liberty: John Findlay (alt.)	Kansas City: Angie Laurie		
Ellie Hall	Smithville: Mayra Toothman (alt.)	Parkville: Daniel Harper		
Katie Newman	Platte County: Wes Minder (alt.)	Affinis: Jeff Bryan; Jacob Wilson		
Cy Smith	FHWA: Cecelie Cochran (alt.)	BHC: Randy Gorton; David Smalling		
Patrick Trouba		CFS Engineers: Carrera Kauszler		
Lukas Yanni		Kansas City Streetcar Authority: Tom Gerend		
		Platte County EDC: Santos Arellano		
		TranSystems Corporation: Jonathan Batchelor; Frank Weatherford		

1. Welcome and Introductions

Committee Chair Patty Hilderbrand welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order. Attendees in person and online introduced themselves.

2. Approve the May 14, 2024, Meeting Summary

Mike Duffy moved to approve the May 14, 2024 meeting summary as presented, and Greg Rokos seconded the motion. The meeting summary was approved as written, and the motion passed.

3. MoDOT Updates

The obligation request is due by August 30. The conditional roadway clearance deadline is July 15.

4. Reasonable Progress & Program Balance Report

Director of Transportation & Environment Ron Achelpohl reported that due to three projects needing to be deferred to future programming years, about \$5m will need to be reprogrammed to meet obligation targets for 2024. The three projects deobligating from the 2024 program are the Harrisonville MO-2 Culvert project, the Independence Truman Connect project, and the Weston Bluff Trail Enhancements

project. Mr. Achelpohl reviewed the list of programmed projects with sponsors in attendance and MoDOT, confirming no additional projects had issues with obligating funds in 2024.

To meet obligation targets for 2024 by the August 30 deadline, funding can be reprogrammed to scheduled projects with an administrative modification of up to 25% of existing awarded funding. MARC staff discussed potential increases in funding with project sponsors in advance of this meeting, and those projects that could take additional funding and the proposed increases are below:

Sponsor	Project	Existing Funds	Potential Increase	Revised Total
Belton	Markey Parkway	\$3,000,000	\$750,000	\$3,750,000
Kansas City	Front Street	\$5,791,430	\$1,447,857	\$7,239,287
KCATA	Berkley Riverfront	\$1,220,184	\$305,046	\$1,525,230
Lawson	Salem Road	\$1,000,000	\$250,000	\$1,250,000
Lee's Summit	Pryor Road	\$13,930,000	\$3,482,500	\$17,412,500
	TOTAL	\$24,941,614	\$6,235,403	\$31,177,017

The proposed changes would reach close to 130% of the STP target (and slightly over the 120% target overall for the rest of the programs). Remaining projects on the schedule with no increase include Jackson County Greenwood Connector, Liberty Blue Jay & M-291, MARC Planning Sustainable Places, and MARC Operation Green Light Operations. Fiscal year 2025 would begin with a balance of roughly \$569,000.

Sherri McIntyre moved to approve the administratively adjusted funding recommendations as presented. Greg Rokos seconded the motion. Discussion included a progress update from project sponsors in attendance, and the motion passed.

5. 2024 Programming Update

Ron Achelpohl reminded the committee of the upcoming programming cycle for FFY 2027 and 2028, noting technical applications for Phase II will be due July 26, 2024. Mr. Achelpohl reviewed the programming schedule, and aside from a few technical issues that have already been addressed, the application process has been running smoothly.

6. CRRSAA Regional Preventive Maintenance Project Update

Principal Planner Darryl Fields noted the Microsurfacing project is anticipated to be completed by September, and the Mill and Overlay project is expected to be completed by mid November. Mr. Fields reviewed the progress of the paving projects for specific jurisdictions and roadways across Cass, Clay, and Platte Counties, and Jackson County. The Cass, Clay, and Platte County project has spent close to 60% of its budget (about \$1.2m of \$2m), and the Jackson County project has spent \$585,000 of its \$3.7m budget. Once an updated schedule is available, it will be distributed to committee members.

7. Other Business

Chair Hilderbrand shared a final reminder about the deadline for Phase II suballocated funding applications on July 26, 2024.

8. Adjournment

The next MO STP meeting will be held August 13, 2024. With no further business, Chair Hilderbrand adjourned the meeting.