# Missouri STP Priorities Committee March 12, 2024 Meeting Summary

Voting Members Present:		Voting Members (continued)	
Belton	Greg Rokos	Parkville	
Blue Springs (1 of 2)	Tom Degenhardt	Peculiar	Mickey Ary
Blue Springs (2 of 2)	Adam Hilgedick	Platte City	
Excelsior Springs		Pleasant Hill	Nici Wilson
Gladstone		Raymore	Trent Salsbury (alt.)
Grain Valley	Dick Tuttle (alt.)	Raytown	
Grandview	Doug Wesselschmidt	Richmond	
Greenwood		Smithville	Chuck Soules
Harrisonville	Patty Hilderbrand, Chair	Cass County	
Independence (1 of 2)	Adi Al-Smadi	Clay County	
Independence (2 of 2)	Rodney Honeycutt (alt.)	Jackson County	Matt Davis
Kansas City (1 of 4)	Nicolás Bosonetto	Platte County	Bob Heim
Kansas City (2 of 4)	Chad Thompson (alt.)	Ray County	Matt Nolker
Kansas City (3 of 4)		FHWA (Ex Officio)	
Kansas City (4 of 4)		KCATA	AJ Farris
Kearney	Shelie Daniel	MoDOT	Juan Yin (alt.)
Lee's Summit (1 of 2)	Michael Park	Bike/Ped Com Rep.	Noel Bennion
Lee's Summit (2 of 2)	Susan Barry (alt.)	Goods Movement	Mike Duffy
Liberty	Sherri McIntyre, Vice Chair	Highway Com Rep.	
North Kansas City	Xue Wood (alt.)	RTCC Rep.	
Oak Grove			
MARC Staff:	Other Attendees:		
Marc Hansen	Belton: Haden Mattke (alt.)	Arthur Gough	
Ron Achelpohl	Grandview: Athena Huynh (alt.)	Mauricio Vasconsellos Pena	
Megan Broll	Harrisonville: Carl Brooks (alt.)	Affinis: Jeff Bryan; Jacob Wilson	
Beth Dawson	Pleasant Hill: Tony Bakken (alt.)	BHC: David Smalling	
Raymart Dinglas	Smithville: Mayra Toothman (alt.)	Katigon Consult: Kati Horner	
Darryl Fields	Platte County, MO: Wes Minder (alt.)	MoDOT: Jill Bruss, Zeke Hall, Katie Jardieu; Ben McCabe;	
Martin Rivarola		Melissa Schmitz; Don Schoenborn	
Patrick Trouba	Cass County: Derek Wise	Office of U.S. Representative Sam Graves: Christian Holferty	
Ray Webb	Clay County: Dianna Wright; Terri	Taliaferro & Browne, Inc.: Michael Gardner	
	Independence: Matt McLaughlin	TranSystems Corporati	on: Jonathan Batchelor

## 1. Welcome and Introductions

Committee Chair Patty Hilderbrand welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order. Attendees in person and online introduced themselves.

# 2. Approve the February 13, 2024, Meeting Summary

Sherri McIntyre moved to approve the February 13, 2024 meeting summary as presented, and Chuck Soules seconded the motion. The motion passed.

#### 3. MoDOT Updates

Juan Yin of MoDOT reported that the STIP is wrapping up for annual updates, and will open for public comments in May. Melissa Schmitz was selected to take the transportation planning coordinator position, formerly held by Marisela Ward. Ms. Yin thanked everyone's efforts at the last committee meeting to meet MoDOT's obligation goal, and noted the Active Transportation Programming Committee (ATPC) also took efforts to reach their targets. Ms. Yin also noted that based on current staff levels, it will take roughly six weeks to move a project through MoDOT's review process. She requested project sponsors do quality control before submitting plans to help minimize review time. Katie Jardieu added that MoDOT has a month to respond every time a project is submitted for environmental review, so if MoDOT notes multiple issues in a project, the sponsor should cover all issues in its response to prevent restarting the one month review time for each issue.

## 4. Reasonable Progress & Program Balance

Marc Hansen reviewed the changes to programming made at the previous committee meeting, noting that \$17.6m of 2024 STBG funds were reprogrammed across six different projects. Mr. Hansen reviewed the specific amounts and programs, which were shared in the meeting packet with the committee and will be submitted in the next TIP amendment along with changes made by the ATPC. Mr. Hansen confirmed that the Greenwood Connector project would be moved to the 2025 schedule, but that overall obligation targets would still be met. Chair Hilderbrand called for any other projects who may not be able to obligate this year; there was no response.

#### 5. Missouri Unfunded Needs

Martin Rivarola shared updates to the Missouri Unfunded Needs list, noting increases in scope and budget have led to the list being unbalanced. The MO STP Priorities Committee and other modal committees will need to review and prioritize projects on the lists to submit recommendations to TTPC and the MARC Board in May. Mr. Rivarola reviewed the project lists and timelines for each tier that were shared with the committee in advance of the meeting, noting the changes in projects between 2023 and 2024.

In particular, on Tier 2 the I-29 and I-35 Corridor Improvements Project was split into various phases, with increased costs for the overall project; changes to projects in Tier 2 led to that list exceeding MoDOT's target by \$270m. Tier 3 added a project from Ray County and is slightly below the MoDOT target. Nicolás Bosonetto questioned why the Safety Improvements Across Bruce R. Watkins project was split across tiers; Juan Yin of MoDOT clarified that it was split based on last year's funding category, but both agreed that the project could likely be combined again based on the project's schedule. Mr. Rivarola called for any changes in priorities to the lists by sharing a live poll with committee members.

#### 6. CRRSAA Regional Preventive Maintenance Project Update

Darryl Fields presented on the Regional Preventive Maintenance Program, funded by federal CRRSAA funds. MoDOT has received contracts and plans, and work can begin April 1 pending their review and approved Notice To Proceed (NTP). Vance Brothers was the winning bid for the micro-surfacing project, and provided a schedule that indicates they will start work in Clay County first, then move on to Independence, MO. Superior-Bowen will conduct the roadway mill and overlay projects, and will do pothole sealing for Vance brothers. They have not provided a schedule yet, but intend to begin work April 1 pending the NTP. The respective contractors will reach out to each jurisdiction to coordinate road closures prior to beginning work.

## 7. Other Business

MARC's Regional Leadership Awards nomination period is closed, but Mr. Hansen reminded the committee that the Regional Assembly is June 14. Registration details will be available on MARC's website.

Mr. Rivarola shared the live results of the prioritization poll of Missouri Unfunded Needs with the committee, and noted he will share the final results of the poll at the next meeting. At last month's committee meeting, members were invited to add projects to the list; Ray County was the only jurisdiction to submit a project, and Mr. Rivarola asked for anyone wanting to submit new projects to reach out to him to add those to the list.

## 8. Adjournment

The next MO STP meeting will be held April 9, 2024. With no further business, Chair Hilderbrand adjourned the meeting.