816/474-4240 816/421-7758 FAX www.marc.org



MARC Solid Waste Management District

Serving local governments in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray Counties and working cooperatively with Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte Counties

Executive Board

Appointed:

Louis Cummings
City of Kansas City

Bob Huston

Cass County

Donna Koontz Clay County

Brenda Franks

Jackson County

Daniel Erickson

Platte County

Billy Gaines

Ray County

Elected:

Doug Wylie, Chair

City of Parkville

Cara Elbert

City of Blue Springs

Mike Jackson, Vice Chair

City of Independence

Lauran Kurtz

City of Lake Lotawana

Chris Bussen

City of Lee's Summit

Trent Salsbury

City of Raymore

Mike Larson

City of Sugar Creek

David Pavlich

City of Kearney

Ex Officio:

Vacant

Secretary/Treasurer

September 13, 2023

OPEN MEETING NOTICE

To: MARC Solid Waste Management District Executive Board & Alternates

From: Nadia Karpilow

Re: MARC SWMD Executive Board Meeting, Wednesday, 9/20/23,

11am-1pm

This meeting will be held in a hybrid format. You may email Nadja Karpilow (karpilow@marc.org) to be forwarded the information to access the ZOOM meeting room.

AGENDA

I. Introductions / Member Sharing

II. Approval of Meeting Summaries

- Approval of July 2023, Meeting Summary (Executive Board)
- Approval of August 2023, Meeting Summary (Management Council)

III. Administrative Matters

- Annual HHW Per Capita Fee The HHW Finance Committee will provide a recommendation for the 2024 per capita fee for the Regional HHW program.
- RFQ for District Operations –The selection committee will present the firm selected to provide administrative services for the district.
- Landfill Capacity Study MARC Staff will provide an update on the RFP process.
- De-obligation of Funds
- Nominating Committee The chairman will appoint a 5-member nominating committee with approval by the executive board, for presenting a slate of candidates to fill city representative positions.

IV. Board Discussion

- Food Loss and Waste Update- new website
- There will be a ribbon cutting ceremony on September 28 at 2:00 pm at the Lee's Summit Resource Recovery Park for the Summit Waste Systems (aka KC Dumpster) Construction and Demolition recycling facility.
- The district received ten grant applications for the 2024 call totaling \$746,938. The grant review committee is meeting October 4 to form their recommendation for board approval on October 11.

V. Old Business / New Business

Closing –The next Management Council meeting on October 18 at 9:00 am will be a tour of Kanbe's Markets. The next Executive Board (special) meeting is scheduled for October 11, 2023, from 11 am to 1:00 pm. Meetings may be held via teleconference rather than at a physical location.

Enclosures: Meeting summaries, agenda report



Chair Carson Ross Mayor Blue Springs, Missouri 1st Vice Chair Janeé Hanzlick Commissioner Johnson County, Kansas 2nd Vice Chair Beto Lopez Mayor Pro Tem Lee's Summit, Missouri Treasurer Damien Boley Mayor Smithville, Missouri

Secretary Holly Grummert Councilmember Overland Park, Kansas Executive Director David A. Warm

