Skycast X

10th Anniversary Award Honorees

The Destination Safe Coalition formed in 2004, after more than a year of discussions with area transportation official and safety partners around transportation safety issues in the Greater Kansas City area.  

On our organization’s ten-year anniversary, we are recognizing our partners for contributions that help create a safer transportation system for the Kansas City region and move us closer to Destination Safe’s Towards Zero Fatalities goal. 

On Friday, Sept. 5, 2014, Rose M. Simone, Missouri co-chair of the Destination Safe Coalition Leadership Team and co-director of ThinkFirst of Greater Kansas City, hosted an award ceremony and lunch honoring Destination Safe's 10th anniversary. Along with her Kansas co-chair Technical Trooper Howard Dickinson, she presented several Destination Safe awards.

Law Enforcement & Emergency Management Awards

This award recognizes a significant contribution in the area of traffic safety that is made through law enforcement or emergency response. 

Technical Trooper Howard Dickinson

Kansas Highway Patrol and Kansas co-chair of Destination Safe Coalition Leadership Team
Howard, a founding member of the Destination Safe coalition, is honored for his years of service. He successfully works with enforcement agencies across state, county and municipal boundaries to aid in traffic enforcement operations supporting national campaigns such as Click it or Ticket and Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.

Ervin Jason Sims

Traffic Center Manager, Kansas City Scout
Jason and the staff of KC Scout are recognized for the safety contribution of the Traffic Incident Management (TIM) Program in the KC region to minimize secondary crashes and expedite the emergency response times. This includes protecting incident responders on-scene and investigating incidents thoroughly.

Infrastructure Research Awards

This award recognizes an individual or group who continues to champion traffic safety through improved roadway geometric or operational design. 

Ingrid Potts

Transportation Research Center Manager, MRIGlobal Kansas City, Missouri
Ingrid, a founding member of the Destination Safe coalition, is recognized for her contribution to the development of transportation crash research and area best practices. She has led many successful research projects for the National Cooperative Highway Research Program, the Strategic Highway Research 
Program 2 and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).

Jessica Hutton 

(not pictured)

Senior Traffic Engineer, MRIGlobal Kansas City, Missouri
Jessica is honored for her leadership and technical assistance with the Destination Safe Transportation Data Task Team. Jessica has written for transportation manuals and guidance documents, including the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials Green Book, the Highway Safety Manual, and the NCHRP 500 series.

Mehrdad Givechi, PE, PTOE

Program Assistant/Research Engineer, University of Kansas Transportation Center Kansas Local Technical Assistance Program Mehrdad is recognized for his contribution to transportation crash analysis with the 2011 Eisenhower Road Safety Audit. He has conducted twelve RSAs in Kansas, including coalition counties of Johnson, Leavenworth and Miami. 

Education and Advocacy Awards

This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to traffic safety and have inspired others through community efforts.

Vicky Ward

Manager of Prevention Services
Tri-County Mental Health Services, Kansas City, Missouri
Through Tri-County Mental Health, Vicky and her staff actively work to educate teens in Platte, Clay, and Ray counties in Missouri about the dangers of driving without a seat belt, distracted driving, speeding and driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol. 

Katie Schatte

Safe Kids Coordinator, Safe Kids Johnson County, Kansas
Katie is recognized for her years of leadership in the Safe Kids Johnson County injury prevention program. Katie works to organize car seat fitting events and the annual Safe Kids “Walk this Way” campaign to address elementary school pedestrian safety. 

Regina Weir

Safe Kids Coordinator, Safe Kids KC Metro 
We recognize Regina for her years of leadership in the Safe Kids KC Metro injury prevention program. Regina works to organize car seat fitting events and annually promotes a “Walk this Way” event at area elementary schools. Safe Kids Metro KC serves the Clay, Jackson and Platte counties in Missouri and Wyandotte County in Kansas.