Skycast X

Active Transportation Programming Committee

Kansas – Cliff Middleton, Johnson County, Kansas
Missouri – Brian Nowotny, Jackson County, Missouri

Staff contacts:
Kaitlyn Service, 816/701-8280
Marc Hansen, 816/701-8317
Ron Achelpohl, 816/701-8327
Scope of Work
The Active Transportation Programming Committee oversees federal programs that provide funds to sponsors of transportation projects that benefit pedestrians, bicyclists and other non-motorized transportation users. The committee assists in reviewing project applications and provides recommendations to the Total Transportation Policy Committee (TTPC), Air Quality Forum, and MARC Board. The committee also assists in monitoring and reporting on the progress of funded projects.
Committee roles and responsibilities
The Active Transportation Programming Committee consists of state, local government and public works officials, transit representatives, members of the Bicycle-Pedestrian Advisory Committee, and community representatives with educational backgrounds or professional experience in health, environmental engineering, historic or community preservation, or serving the transportation needs of elementary school-aged children.

Committee members

Meetings and Activities
The Active Transportation Programming Committee meets on the second Wednesday of every quarter at 10:30 a.m. Meetings are generally held in the MARC offices at 600 Broadway, Suite 200, Kansas City, Mo. All meetings are listed on the MARC calendar and are open to the public.
2017 meeting schedule:

  • Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. in Heartland room  |  agenda
  • Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. in Broadway room  |  agenda
  • Wednesday, Aug. 9, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. in Broadway room
  • Wednesday, Nov. 8, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. in Broadway room

Meeting Archives

The meeting archives are PDF files that include a summary of the meeting agenda.