Skycast X

MARC Board of Directors elects new officers

January 25, 2017
David Warm, Executive Director, 816-474-4240
Barbara Hensley, Public Affairs Director,, 816-701-8219

MARC Board of Directors elects new officers

Gladstone Councilwoman Carol Suter named board chair

Councilwoman Carol Suter of Gladstone, Missouri, was elected chair of the MARC Board of Directors on Jan. 24. She replaces Curt Skoog, a member of the Overland Park city council, who served as board chair for the past two years.

Suter joined the board in 2013 and has held the office of 1st vice chair since January 2015. She has also been a member of MARC’s First Suburbs Coalition and the KC Communities for All Ages Advisory Board. First appointed to Gladstone’s city council in 2007, Suter was elected to her first full term on the council in 2008 and served as the city’s mayor in 2012.

“I really enjoy serving on the MARC Board,” said Suter. “It’s a rare opportunity to sit down with so many elected officials from across the region, and it is going to be my pleasure to serve as chair.”

Other officers elected at the meeting include:
  •        1st Vice Chair — Commissioner Rob Roberts, Miami County, Kansas
  •        2nd Vice Chair — Commissioner Jimmy Odom, Cass County, Missouri
  •         Treasurer — Commissioner Harold Johnson, Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas
  •       Secretary — Mayor Randy Rhoads, Lee’s Summit, Missouri
The Mid-America Regional Council serves as the voluntary association of city and county governments and the metropolitan planning organization for the bistate Kansas City region. MARC provides a forum for the region to work together to advance social, economic and environmental progress. MARC’s Board of Directors consists of 33 locally elected leaders from the nine member counties and the six largest cities in the region, as well as representatives from other cities in the area. The member counties are Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray in Missouri and Johnson, Leavenworth Miami and Wyandotte in Kansas. The six largest cities are Kansas City, Missouri, Kansas City, Kansas, Overland Park, Olathe, Lee’s Summit and Independence.
# # #